en
Language
Select your language
|

Reporting on allocation and impact

Dear Investors, Dear Sir / Madam,

Topics such as climate change and a renewable energy supply have been driving our company for years. With our BKW Building Solutions, we are targeting the growing services business where a significant proportion of CO2 emissions are generated, specifically in building stock. In 2019 BKW Engineering also significantly strengthened its focus on energy and resource-efficient building planning, concentrating on the highest standards for ecological construction and sustainable architecture.

In the Energy Division, BKW has been investing exclusively in renewable energies for new power plants since 2013. In addition, our Group has committed itself to the 17 sustainability goals of UN Agenda 2030.

graphic

As CFO, I am of course delighted that in summer 2019 BKW became the first listed company in Switzerland to issue a green bond in the amount of CHF 200 million. We wanted to explicitly target investors who are looking for purely green investment opportunities on the market. Such investments are increasingly in demand, after all. That our bond was greatly oversubscribed proves this fact.

The launch of our first green bond represents a milestone for our company. After the shutdown of our Nuclear Power Plant in Mühleberg the expansion of renewable energies in Switzerland and abroad will play an even bigger role for BKW. Thanks to this bond we will be able to refinance wind turbines in Norway (CHF 115 million) and France (CHF 60 million) and small hydroelectric power plants in the Canton of Bern (CHF 17 million) and the rest of Switzerland (CHF 8 million). With these steps we are helping to decarbonise energy supply in Europe.

We are pleased to provide you with details below about the allocation of the net proceeds and the impact we have achieved through the projects financed by the green bond since it was issued.

Best regards,

Ronald Trächsel
CFO

Solutions for a future worth living for

BKW is committed to Agenda 2030 and associated Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) and strives to make an active contribution towards achieving these goals. The 17 SDGs are closely interlinked. BKW has identified 10 of these SDGs that are especially important to us given our wide range of business activities. This is where we can create added value.

graphic

The current green bond projects focus on SDGs 7 “Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all” and 13 “Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts”. Thanks to hydro and wind technologies, our projects are making a contribution to the desired energy transition in Switzerland and Europe. Furthermore, these projects are supporting the decarbonisation of electricity generation. In this context, we have set the goal that 75 % of our production capacity consists of renewable energy technologies by 2023.

BKW’s first green bond

In the past, BKW has played a pioneering role in renewable energies and has decided to take the lead with green bonds as well: BKW was the first listed Swiss company to launch a green bond for trading on the Swiss exchange, expanding the existing range of green bonds on the Swiss capital market. The key details of BKW’s inaugural green bond are:

Issuer

BKW AG

Status

Senior Unsecured

Issue amount

CHF 200,000,000

Interest rate

0.25 % 

Issue date

1. July 2019

Payment

29 July 2019

Maturity

29 July 2027

ISIN

CH048708729

Proceeds of issue

CHF 200,010,000

The BKW Green Bond Framework, including BKW’s sustainability approach and the (re)financed projects, were audited by ISS oekom. The Framework and the projects have been given a positive assessment. The submitted projects’ contribution to SDGs 7 and 13 were rated as significant.

The 117.3 GWh of electricity produced in 2019 and attributable to the green bond corresponds to the annual consumption of 26,000 households 1 in Switzerland. The associated CO2 emissions avoided by the green bond amounted to 1,904.9 tonnes in 2019.

Reporting on allocation and impact

To ensure the transparency and quality of the green bonds issued, BKW reports annually on the allocation of net proceeds and impact. The following reporting principles have been defined for quality assurance purposes:

Green bond reporting principles

Installed capacity (MW)

In the case of projects in operation, installed capacity in megawatts (MW) indicates the installed capacity attributable to the green bond based on the commissioning documentation. In the case of projects under construction, the capacity shows the planned capacity attributable to the green bond based on the manufacturer’s type certificate or the hydroelectric concession.

Production (GWh)

Production in gigawatt hours (GWh) indicates production based on production data (energy statistics) for 2019 attributable to the green bond. In the first report, production includes the energy generated since the payment date for the green bond on 29 July 2019.

Greenhouse gas emissions in CO2e or CO2 (t) avoided

The green bond projects generate renewable electricity in Norway, France and Switzerland. When calculating the emissions avoided, we assume that the electricity generated by the green bond projects would otherwise have been generated using the country’s typical production mix.

The emission factors for these production mixes form our baseline accordingly. For Switzerland, data from treeze2 indicates CO2 equivalents in grams per kilowatt hour. For Norway and France we use data from the International Energy Agency (IEA)3. As the IEA only considers CO2 and not CO2 equivalents as a greenhouse gas, the final calculation of the saving is conservative. The following values are used for the calculations:

1 Calculation is based on the consumption of a household with a five-room apartment of 4,500 kWh / year based on https://www.strompreis.elcom.admin.ch/BaseDataSelection.aspx

2 treeze Ltd. (Messmer, A., Frischknecht R.) (2016): Umweltbilanz Strommix Schweiz 2014 (German only)

3 IEA data 2014, CO2 emission factors from electricity and heat generation for world countries, http://wds.iea.org/

The direct emissions based on treeze are used for the projects. These are 0 g CO2e / kWh each for the small hydropower and wind onshore technologies.

The CO2 in tonnes (t) avoided is calculated by multiplying the production quantity of a project attributable to the green bond by the CO2 emission factor of the production mix of the country in which the project is located.

Allocation (CHF millions)

The allocation in millions of Swiss francs (CHF millions) corresponds to the amount of the net proceeds from the green bond allocated to the respective technology.

Allocation (%)

The allocation in % corresponds to the share of the net proceeds from the green bond allocated to the respective technology.

Reporting on allocation and impact

Attributable to the Green Bond …

Comissioning

Installed production

Production 2019

CO2 or CO2e avoided 2019

Allocation 1

Technology

Project

Country

Status

Year

MW

GWh

t

CHF millions

%

Small hydro

Ragn d’Err 2

Switzerland

Operation

2016

2.3

3.4

101.9

Schattenhalb

2017

1.4

2.1

63.0

Spiggebach

2017

0.8

0.9

26.9

Sousbach

Planning

2023

0.0

0.0

0.0

Subtotal small hydro

4.5

6.4

191.8

20.0

10.0 % 

Wind

Saint Germier

France

Operation

2017

7.0

10.1

412.8

St. Julien du Terroux

2017

6.1

4.9

199.0

RAZ Energie 3

2017

13.3

9.3

382.2

Roan

Norway

Operation

2018

23.9

32.5

269.8

Marker

2019

40.5

49.9

414.5

Hitra II

2019

7.5

4.2

34.8

Harbaksfjellet

Construction

2020

11.3

0.0

0.0

Geitfjellet

2020

16.3

0.0

0.0

Kvenndalsfjellet

2020

10.1

0.0

0.0

Subtotal wind

136.0

110.9

1,713.1

175.0

87.5 % 

Not allocated

5.0

2.5 % 

Total

140.5

117.3

1,904.9

200.0

100.0 % 

1 The allocation only includes refinancing of projects under construction or in operation.

2 Ragn d’Err: According to the Green Bond Framework, the lookback period of 36 months may be exceeded. The excess must be disclosed transparently. In the case of the Ragn d’Err project, this period was slightly exceeded at 38 months. Due to the project’s long term, the project was refinanced with the green bond, despite the short overrun.

Back to top
This website uses cookies, including those from third parties, that are necessary for functionality and for the purposes set out in the cookie policy. By closing this banner, scrolling down the page, clicking on a link or continuing navigation in any other way, you consent to the use of cookies.

de
Sprache
Wählen Sie Ihre Sprache aus
|

Berichterstattung über Allokation und Wirkung

Sehr geehrte Anlegerinnen und Anleger Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren

Themen wie der Klimawandel und eine erneuerbare Energieversorgung treiben unser Unternehmen seit Jahren an. Mit unserer BKW Building Solutions setzen wir im wachsenden Dienstleistungsgeschäft dort an, wo ein bedeutender Teil der CO2-Emissionen anfällt, nämlich im Gebäudepark. Des Weitern hat BKW Engineering seinen Schwerpunkt im Bereich energie- und ressourceneffizienter Gebäudeplanung im Jahr 2019 entscheidend verstärkt und setzt auf höchste Standards für ökologisches Bauen und nachhaltige Architektur.

Im Geschäftsbereich Energie investiert die BKW bei neuen Kraftwerken bereits seit 2013 ausschliesslich in erneuerbare Energien. Zudem hat sich unser Konzern zur UN-Agenda 2030 mit den 17 Nachhaltigkeitszielen bekannt.

graphic

Besonders erfreut bin ich als CFO natürlich darüber, dass die BKW im Sommer 2019 als erstes börsenkotiertes Unternehmen der Schweiz am Kapitalmarkt einen Green Bond über 200 Millionen Franken platziert hat. Wir wollten damit explizit Investoren ansprechen, die am Markt rein grüne Anlagemöglichkeiten suchen. Denn solche Geldanlagen sind immer mehr gefragt. Das zeigt sich auch daran, dass unser Green Bond mehrfach überzeichnet wurde.

Die Lancierung unseres ersten Green Bond ist ein Meilenstein für unser Unternehmen. Denn der Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien im In- und Ausland spielt für uns durch die Abschaltung unseres Kernkraftwerks Mühleberg im Dezember 2019 eine noch grössere Rolle. Dank dem Green Bond können wir Windkraftanlagen in Norwegen (115 Millionen Franken) und Frankreich (60 Millionen Franken) sowie Kleinwasserkraftwerke im Kanton Bern (17 Millionen Franken) und in der restlichen Schweiz (8 Millionen Franken) refinanzieren. Damit leisten wir einen Beitrag zur Dekarbonisierung der Energieversorgung in Europa.

Gerne informieren wir Sie nachfolgend erstmalig über die Allokation des Nettoerlöses sowie die Wirkung, welche wir mit den durch den Green Bond refinanzierten Projekten seit der Liberierung des Green Bond erzielt haben.

Freundliche Grüsse

Ronald Trächsel
CFO

Lösungen für eine lebenswerte Zukunft

Die BKW bekennt sich zur Agenda 2030 mit den Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) und will ihren Beitrag zur Erreichung der Ziele leisten. Die insgesamt 17 SDGs sind eng miteinander verknüpft. Die BKW hat davon 10 SDGs identifiziert, die aufgrund unserer vielfältigen Geschäftstätigkeit besonders relevant für uns sind. Dort können wir einen Mehrwert schaffen.

graphic

Die Projekte des aktuellen Green Bond zahlen insbesondere auf die SDGs Nr. 7 «Zugang zu bezahlbarer, verlässlicher, nachhaltiger und moderner Energie» und Nr. 13 «Massnahmen zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels und seiner Auswirkungen» ein. Denn mit Wasser- und Windtechnologien leisten unsere Projekte einen Beitrag zur angestrebten Energiewende in der Schweiz und in Europa und unterstützen die Dekarbonisierung der Stromerzeugung. In diesem Zusammenhang haben wir uns das Ziel gesetzt, dass unsere Produktionskapazitäten bis 2023 zu 75 % aus erneuerbaren Energietechnologien bestehen.

Erster Green Bond der BKW

In der Vergangenheit leistete die BKW Pionierarbeit im Bereich der erneuerbaren Energien und sie hat sich entschlossen, bei den Green Bonds ebenfalls eine Vorreiterrolle zu übernehmen: Als erstes börsenkotiertes Schweizer Unternehmen hat die BKW einen Green Bond zum Börsenhandel in der Schweiz lanciert und erweiterte damit das bestehende Angebot an Green Bonds auf dem Schweizer Kapitalmarkt. Die Eckdaten des ersten Green Bond der BKW sind wie folgt:

Emittentin

BKW AG

Status

Senior Unsecured

Emissionsbetrag

CHF 200 000 000

Zinssatz

0.25 % 

Issue Date

1. Juli 2019

Liberierung

29. Juli 2019

Fälligkeit

29. Juli 2027

ISIN

CH048708729

Emissionserlös

CHF 200 010 000

Das BKW Green Bond Framework, welches auch den Nachhaltigkeitsansatz der BKW sowie die (re-)finanzierten Projekte enthält, wurde durch ISS oekom geprüft. Das Framework und die Projekte wurden positiv beurteilt. Der Beitrag der eingebrachten Projekte zu den SDGs Nr. 7 und Nr. 13 wurde als signifikant beurteilt.

Der 2019 dem Green Bond zurechenbare produzierte Strom von 117.3 GWh entspricht dem Verbrauch von 26 000 Haushalten 1 in der Schweiz. Die 2019 dem Green Bond zurechenbaren vermiedenen CO2-Emissionen betragen 1 904.9 Tonnen.

Berichterstattung über Allokation und Wirkung

Zur Sicherstellung der Transparenz und der Qualität des ausgegebenen Green Bond berichtet die BKW jährlich über die Allokation des Nettoerlöses sowie die Wirkung. Zur Qualitätssicherung wurden für die Berichterstattung folgende Grundsätze definiert:

Berichterstattungsgrundsätze Green Bond

Installierte Leistung (MW)

Die installierte Leistung in Megawatt (MW) zeigt für Projekte in Betrieb die dem Green Bond zurechenbare installierte Leistung gemäss Inbetriebsetzungsdokumentation. Für im Bau befindliche Projekte zeigt die Leistung die dem Green Bond zurechenbare geplante Leistung gemäss Typenzertifikat des Herstellers oder gemäss Wasserkraftkonzession.

Produktion (GWh)

Die Produktion in Gigawattstunden (GWh) zeigt die Produktion basierend auf den Produktionsdaten (Energiestatistik) des Jahres 2019, welche dem Green Bond zurechenbar ist. Für die erste Berichterstattung enthält die Produktion die erzeugte Energie seit Liberierungsdatum des Green Bond am 29. Juli 2019.

Vermiedene Treibhausgasemissionen in CO2e bzw. CO2 (t)

Die Green Bond Projekte erzeugen erneuerbaren Strom in den Ländern Norwegen, Frankreich und Schweiz. Bei der Berechnung der vermiedenen Emissionen legen wir die Annahme zugrunde, dass der durch die Green Bond Projekte erzeugte Strom ansonsten über den landestypischen Produktionsmix erzeugt worden wäre.

Die Emissionsfaktoren dieser Produktionsmixe legen entsprechend unsere Baseline. Für die Schweiz stehen Daten von treeze2 zur Verfügung, welche CO2-Äquivalente in Gramm pro Kilowattstunde angeben. Für Norwegen und Frankreich greifen wir auf Daten der Internationalen Energieagentur (IEA)3 zurück. Da die IEA nur CO2 als Treibhausgas und nicht CO2-Äquivalente berücksichtigt, fällt die abschliessende Berechnung der Einsparungen konservativ aus. Folgende Werte werden für die Berechnungen genutzt:

1 Berechnungsbasis bildet der Verbrauch eines Haushalts mit 5-Zimmer-Wohnung von 4 500 kWh / Jahr gemäss https://www.strompreis.elcom.admin.ch/BaseDataSelection.aspx

2 treeze Ltd. (Messmer A., Frischknecht R.) (2016): Umweltbilanz Strommix Schweiz 2014

3 IEA-Data 2014, CO2 emission factors from electricity and heat generation for world countries, http://wds.iea.org/

Für die Projekte werden die direkten Emissionen gemäss treeze herangezogen. Diese liegen für die Technologien Kleinwasserkraft und Wind onshore jeweils bei 0 g CO2e / kWh.

Das vermiedene CO2 in Tonnen (t) wird berechnet durch Multiplikation der dem Green Bond zurechenbaren Produktionsmenge eines Projektes mit dem CO2-Emissionsfaktor des Produktionsmix des Landes, in dem sich das Projekt befindet.

Allokation (Mio. CHF)

Die Allokation in Millionen Schweizer Franken (Mio. CHF) entspricht dem Betrag aus dem Nettoerlös des Green Bond, der auf die entsprechende Technologie allokiert wurde.

Allokation (%)

Die Allokation in % entspricht dem Anteil aus dem Nettoerlös des Green Bond, der auf die jeweilige Technologie allokiert wurde.

Berichterstattung über Allokation und Wirkung

Dem Green Bond zurechenbare …

Inbetriebnahme

Installierte Leistung

Produktion 2019

Vermeidung CO2 bzw. CO2e 2019

Allokation 1

Technologie

Projekt

Land

Status

Jahr

MW

GWh

t

Mio. CHF

%

Kleinwasser

Ragn d’Err 2

Schweiz

Betrieb

2016

2.3

3.4

101.9

Schattenhalb

2017

1.4

2.1

63.0

Spiggebach

2017

0.8

0.9

26.9

Sousbach

Planung

2023

0.0

0.0

0.0

Subtotal Kleinwasser

4.5

6.4

191.8

20.0

10.0 % 

Wind

Saint Germier

Frankreich

Betrieb

2017

7.0

10.1

412.8

St. Julien du Terroux

2017

6.1

4.9

199.0

RAZ Energie 3

2017

13.3

9.3

382.2

Roan

Norwegen

Betrieb

2018

23.9

32.5

269.8

Marker

2019

40.5

49.9

414.5

Hitra II

2019

7.5

4.2

34.8

Harbaksfjellet

Bau

2020

11.3

0.0

0.0

Geitfjellet

2020

16.3

0.0

0.0

Kvenndalsfjellet

2020

10.1

0.0

0.0

Subtotal Wind

136.0

110.9

1 713.1

175.0

87.5 % 

Nicht allokiert

5.0

2.5 % 

Total

140.5

117.3

1 904.9

200.0

100.0 % 

1 Die Allokation beinhaltet ausschliesslich Refinanzierungen von Projekten im Bau oder im Betrieb.

2 Ragn d’Err: Gemäss Green Bond Framework kann die Lookback-Periode von 36 Monaten überschritten werden. Die Überschreitung ist transparent offenzulegen. Für das Projekt Ragn d’Err wurde diese Periode mit 38 Monaten knapp überschritten. Aufgrund der langen Projektlaufzeit wurde das Projekt trotz der knappen Überschreitung mit dem Green Bond refinanziert.

nach oben
Diese Website verwendet Cookies, auch von Dritten, die für ihre Funktion und für die in der Cookie Policy angegebenen Zwecke erforderlich sind. Durch Schliessen dieses Banners, Scrollen dieser Seite, Klicken auf einen Link oder die Fortsetzung der Navigation auf eine andere Weise erklären Sie sich mit der Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden.