en
Language
Select your language
|

Reporting on allocation and impact

Dear Investors, Dear Sir / Madam,

Topics such as climate change and a renewable energy supply have been driving our company for years. With our BKW Building Solutions, we are targeting the growing services business where a significant proportion of CO2 emissions are generated, specifically in building stock. In 2019 BKW Engineering also significantly strengthened its focus on energy and resource-efficient building planning, concentrating on the highest standards for ecological construction and sustainable architecture.

In the Energy Division, BKW has been investing exclusively in renewable energies for new power plants since 2013. In addition, our Group has committed itself to the 17 sustainability goals of UN Agenda 2030.

graphic

As CFO, I am of course delighted that in summer 2019 BKW became the first listed company in Switzerland to issue a green bond in the amount of CHF 200 million. We wanted to explicitly target investors who are looking for purely green investment opportunities on the market. Such investments are increasingly in demand, after all. That our bond was greatly oversubscribed proves this fact.

The launch of our first green bond represents a milestone for our company. After the shutdown of our Nuclear Power Plant in Mühleberg the expansion of renewable energies in Switzerland and abroad will play an even bigger role for BKW. Thanks to this bond we will be able to refinance wind turbines in Norway (CHF 115 million) and France (CHF 60 million) and small hydroelectric power plants in the Canton of Bern (CHF 17 million) and the rest of Switzerland (CHF 8 million). With these steps we are helping to decarbonise energy supply in Europe.

We are pleased to provide you with details below about the allocation of the net proceeds and the impact we have achieved through the projects financed by the green bond since it was issued.

Best regards,

Ronald Trächsel
CFO

Solutions for a future worth living for

BKW is committed to Agenda 2030 and associated Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) and strives to make an active contribution towards achieving these goals. The 17 SDGs are closely interlinked. BKW has identified 10 of these SDGs that are especially important to us given our wide range of business activities. This is where we can create added value.

graphic

The current green bond projects focus on SDGs 7 “Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all” and 13 “Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts”. Thanks to hydro and wind technologies, our projects are making a contribution to the desired energy transition in Switzerland and Europe. Furthermore, these projects are supporting the decarbonisation of electricity generation. In this context, we have set the goal that 75 % of our production capacity consists of renewable energy technologies by 2023.

BKW’s first green bond

In the past, BKW has played a pioneering role in renewable energies and has decided to take the lead with green bonds as well: BKW was the first listed Swiss company to launch a green bond for trading on the Swiss exchange, expanding the existing range of green bonds on the Swiss capital market. The key details of BKW’s inaugural green bond are:

Issuer

BKW AG

Status

Senior Unsecured

Issue amount

CHF 200,000,000

Interest rate

0.25 % 

Issue date

1. July 2019

Payment

29 July 2019

Maturity

29 July 2027

ISIN

CH048708729

Proceeds of issue

CHF 200,010,000

The BKW Green Bond Framework, including BKW’s sustainability approach and the (re)financed projects, were audited by ISS oekom. The Framework and the projects have been given a positive assessment. The submitted projects’ contribution to SDGs 7 and 13 were rated as significant.

The 117.3 GWh of electricity produced in 2019 and attributable to the green bond corresponds to the annual consumption of 26,000 households 1 in Switzerland. The associated CO2 emissions avoided by the green bond amounted to 1,904.9 tonnes in 2019.

Reporting on allocation and impact

To ensure the transparency and quality of the green bonds issued, BKW reports annually on the allocation of net proceeds and impact. The following reporting principles have been defined for quality assurance purposes:

Green bond reporting principles

Installed capacity (MW)

In the case of projects in operation, installed capacity in megawatts (MW) indicates the installed capacity attributable to the green bond based on the commissioning documentation. In the case of projects under construction, the capacity shows the planned capacity attributable to the green bond based on the manufacturer’s type certificate or the hydroelectric concession.

Production (GWh)

Production in gigawatt hours (GWh) indicates production based on production data (energy statistics) for 2019 attributable to the green bond. In the first report, production includes the energy generated since the payment date for the green bond on 29 July 2019.

Greenhouse gas emissions in CO2e or CO2 (t) avoided

The green bond projects generate renewable electricity in Norway, France and Switzerland. When calculating the emissions avoided, we assume that the electricity generated by the green bond projects would otherwise have been generated using the country’s typical production mix.

The emission factors for these production mixes form our baseline accordingly. For Switzerland, data from treeze2 indicates CO2 equivalents in grams per kilowatt hour. For Norway and France we use data from the International Energy Agency (IEA)3. As the IEA only considers CO2 and not CO2 equivalents as a greenhouse gas, the final calculation of the saving is conservative. The following values are used for the calculations:

1 Calculation is based on the consumption of a household with a five-room apartment of 4,500 kWh / year based on https://www.strompreis.elcom.admin.ch/BaseDataSelection.aspx

2 treeze Ltd. (Messmer, A., Frischknecht R.) (2016): Umweltbilanz Strommix Schweiz 2014 (German only)

3 IEA data 2014, CO2 emission factors from electricity and heat generation for world countries, http://wds.iea.org/

The direct emissions based on treeze are used for the projects. These are 0 g CO2e / kWh each for the small hydropower and wind onshore technologies.

The CO2 in tonnes (t) avoided is calculated by multiplying the production quantity of a project attributable to the green bond by the CO2 emission factor of the production mix of the country in which the project is located.

Allocation (CHF millions)

The allocation in millions of Swiss francs (CHF millions) corresponds to the amount of the net proceeds from the green bond allocated to the respective technology.

Allocation (%)

The allocation in % corresponds to the share of the net proceeds from the green bond allocated to the respective technology.

Reporting on allocation and impact

Attributable to the Green Bond …

Comissioning

Installed production

Production 2019

CO2 or CO2e avoided 2019

Allocation 1

Technology

Project

Country

Status

Year

MW

GWh

t

CHF millions

%

Small hydro

Ragn d’Err 2

Switzerland

Operation

2016

2.3

3.4

101.9

Schattenhalb

2017

1.4

2.1

63.0

Spiggebach

2017

0.8

0.9

26.9

Sousbach

Planning

2023

0.0

0.0

0.0

Subtotal small hydro

4.5

6.4

191.8

20.0

10.0 % 

Wind

Saint Germier

France

Operation

2017

7.0

10.1

412.8

St. Julien du Terroux

2017

6.1

4.9

199.0

RAZ Energie 3

2017

13.3

9.3

382.2

Roan

Norway

Operation

2018

23.9

32.5

269.8

Marker

2019

40.5

49.9

414.5

Hitra II

2019

7.5

4.2

34.8

Harbaksfjellet

Construction

2020

11.3

0.0

0.0

Geitfjellet

2020

16.3

0.0

0.0

Kvenndalsfjellet

2020

10.1

0.0

0.0

Subtotal wind

136.0

110.9

1,713.1

175.0

87.5 % 

Not allocated

5.0

2.5 % 

Total

140.5

117.3

1,904.9

200.0

100.0 % 

1 The allocation only includes refinancing of projects under construction or in operation.

2 Ragn d’Err: According to the Green Bond Framework, the lookback period of 36 months may be exceeded. The excess must be disclosed transparently. In the case of the Ragn d’Err project, this period was slightly exceeded at 38 months. Due to the project’s long term, the project was refinanced with the green bond, despite the short overrun.

Back to top
This website uses cookies, including those from third parties, that are necessary for functionality and for the purposes set out in the cookie policy. By closing this banner, scrolling down the page, clicking on a link or continuing navigation in any other way, you consent to the use of cookies.

fr
Langue
Veuillez choisir votre langue
|

Rapports sur l’allocation et l’impact

Chers investisseurs, Mesdames, Messieurs,

Le changement climatique et l’approvisionnement en énergie renouvelable constituent de longue date des enjeux centraux de notre entreprise. Avec BKW Building Solutions, nous concentrons notre activité de services en pleine croissance sur un secteur générant une part importante des émissions de CO2, à savoir le parc immobilier. De plus, en 2019, BKW Engineering a également renforcé de manière significative l’accent sur la planification de bâtiments économes en énergie et en ressources, en privilégiant les normes les plus strictes en matière de construction écologique et d’architecture durable.

Dans le secteur d’activité Energie, BKW mise depuis 2013 exclusivement sur les énergies renouvelables pour ses investissements dans de nouvelles centrales électriques. En outre, notre groupe prend fait et cause pour les 17 objectifs de développement durable de l’Agenda 2030 des Nations Unies.

graphic

En tant que CFO, je me réjouis particulièrement qu’à l’été 2019, BKW est devenue la première société cotée en bourse en Suisse à placer sur le marché des capitaux un green bond d’une valeur de 200 millions de CHF. Nous avons voulu ainsi nous adresser explicitement aux investisseurs recherchant sur le marché des opportunités de placement 100 % vertes, tant il est vrai que la demande pour ce type de placement ne cesse de s’accroître. Cela a démontré par la souscription à plusieurs reprises de notre green bond.

Le lancement de notre premier green bond est une nouvelle étape importante de franchie pour notre entreprise. En effet, le développement des énergies renouvelables en Suisse et à l’étranger joue pour nous un rôle encore plus important après l’arrêt de notre centrale nucléaire de Mühleberg en décembre 2019. Le green bond nous permet de refinancer des installations éoliennes en Norvège (115 millions de CHF) et en France (60 millions de CHF), ainsi que de petites centrales hydrauliques dans le canton de Berne (17 millions de CHF) et dans le reste de la Suisse (8 millions de CHF). Nous contribuons ainsi à la décarbonisation de l’approvisionnement énergétique en Europe.

Nous avons le plaisir de vous informer pour la première fois ci-après de l’affectation des produits nets ainsi que de l’impact obtenu par les projets refinancés par notre green Bond depuis son émission.

Avec mes meilleures salutations,

Ronald Trächsel
CFO

Des solutions pour un avenir où il fera bon vivre

BKW soutient l’Agenda 2030 et ses objectifs de développement durable (ODD) et entend contribuer à leur réalisation. Les 17 ODD sont étroitement liés entre eux. BKW a identifié 10 de ces ODD qui sont particulièrement pertinents pour nous compte tenu de la diversité de nos activités. C’est sur ces objectifs que nous pouvons créer une valeur ajoutée.

graphic

Les projets couverts par notre green bond répondent plus particulièrement aux ODD no. 7 «Accès à des services énergétiques fiables, durables et modernes à un coût abordable» et no. 13 «Mesures pour lutter contre les changements climatiques et leurs répercussions». En effet, en recourant à des technologies hydrauliques et éoliennes, nos projets contribuent à la transition énergétique voulue en Suisse et en Europe et soutiennent la décarbonisation de la production d’électricité. Dans ce contexte, nous nous sommes fixé l’objectif d’atteindre 75 % de technologies d’énergie renouvelable pour notre capacité de production d’ici 2023.

Premier green bond de BKW

Ayant déjà dans le passé fait œuvre de pionnier dans le domaine des énergies renouvelables, BKW a décidé de continuer dans cette voie dans le domaine des green bonds: BKW a été la première entreprise suisse cotée en bourse à émettre un green bond en Suisse, élargissant ainsi la gamme existante de green bonds sur le marché des capitaux helvétique. Données clés concernant le premier green bond de BKW:

Emettrice

BKW SA

Statut

Senior Unsecured

Montant d’émission

CHF 200 000 000

Taux d’intérêt

0,25 % 

Date de l’émission

1 juillet 2019

Libération

29 juillet 2019

Echéance

29 juillet 2027

ISIN

CH048708729

Produits de l’émission

CHF 200 010 000

Le Green Bond Framework de BKW, qui comprend également l’approche de BKW en matière de durabilité et les projets (re)financés, a été audité par ISS oekom. Le Framework et les projets ont obtenu une évaluation positive. La contribution des projets présentés aux ODD no. 7 et no. 13 a été jugée importante.

Les 117,3 GWh d’électricité produits en 2019 et attribuables au green bond correspondent à la consommation de 26 000 ménages1 en Suisse. Les émissions de CO2 évitées grâce au green bond en 2019 ont totalisé 1 904,9 tonnes.

Rapport sur l’allocation et l’impact

Afin de garantir la transparence et la qualité du green bond émise, BKW rend compte chaque année de l’affectation de ses produits nets et de son impact. Aux fins d’assurance de la qualité, les principes suivants ont été définis pour l’établissement de ce rapport:

Principes pour l’établissement des rapports sur le green bond

Puissance installée (MW)

La puissance installée en mégawatts (MW) pour les projets en exploitation indique la puissance installée qui est attribuable au green bond selon la documentation de la mise en service. Pour les projets en construction, la puissance indique la puissance planifiée attribuable au green bond d’après le certificat de type du fabricant ou la concession hydraulique.

Production (GWh)

La production en gigawattheures (GWh) indique, sur la base des données de production (statistiques énergétiques) pour 2019, la production qui est attribuable au green bond. Pour le premier rapport, la production inclut l’énergie produite depuis l’émission du green bond sur le marché, le 29 juillet 2019.

Emissions de gaz à effet de serre évitées en CO2e ou CO2 (t)

Les projets financés par le green bond produisent de l’électricité renouvelable en Norvège, en France et en Suisse. Pour calculer les émissions évitées, nous faisons l’hypothèse que l’électricité produite par les projets financés par le green bond aurait autrement été produite conformément au mix de production typique du pays concerné.

Les facteurs d’émission de ces mix de production constituent ainsi notre base de référence. Pour la Suisse, nous nous référons aux données de treeze2, indiquant l’équivalent en CO2 en grammes par kilowattheure. Pour la Norvège et la France, nous nous référons aux données de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie (AIE)3. Comme l’AIE ne prend en compte comme gaz à effet de serre que le CO2 sans y inclure les équivalents de CO2, le calcul final des économies est d’approche conservatrice. Les calculs sont basés sur les valeurs suivantes:

1 Le calcul est basé sur la consommation d’un ménage vivant dans un logement de 5 pièces de 4 500 kWh / an selon https://www.strompreis.elcom.admin.ch/BaseDataSelection.aspx

2 treeze Ltd. (Messmer, A., Frischknecht R.) (2016): Umweltbilanz Strommix Schweiz 2014

3 Données de l’AIE 2014, CO2 emission factors from electricity and heat generation for world countries, http://wds.iea.org/

Les émissions directes estimées par treeze ont été prises en compte pour les projets. Elles s’élèvent à 0 g CO2e / kWh pour les technologies de petite hydroélectricité et de l’éolien onshore.

La quantité en tonnes (t) d’émission de CO2 évitée est obtenue en multipliant la quantité de production d’un projet attribuable au green bond par le facteur d’émission de CO2 du mix de production du pays dans lequel le projet se situe.

Allocation (en millions de CHF)

L’allocation en millions de CHF correspond au montant des produits nets du green bond qui a été affecté à la technologie concernée.

Allocation (en %)

L’allocation en pourcentage correspond à la part des produits nets du green bond qui a été affectée à la technologie concernée.

Rapport sur l’allocation et l’impact

Attribuable au green bond …

Mise en service

Puissance installée

Production 2019

Economies CO2 ou éq. CO2 2019

Allocation 1

Technologie

Projet

Pays

Statut

Année

MW

GWh

t

en mio de CHF

%

Petite hydraulique

Ragn d’Err 2

Suisse

En service

2016

2,3

3,4

101,9

Schattenhalb

2017

1,4

2,1

63,0

Spiggebach

2017

0,8

0,9

26,9

Sousbach

En Planification

2023

0,0

0,0

0,0

Sous-total petite hydraulique

4,5

6,4

191,8

20,0

10,0 % 

Eolien

Saint Germier

France

En service

2017

7,0

10,1

412,8

St. Julien du Terroux

2017

6,1

4,9

199,0

RAZ Energie 3

2017

13,3

9,3

382,2

Roan

Norvège

En service

2018

23,9

32,5

269,8

Marker

2019

40,5

49,9

414,5

Hitra II

2019

7,5

4,2

34,8

Harbaksfjellet

En construction

2020

11,3

0,0

0,0

Geitfjellet

2020

16,3

0,0

0,0

Kvenndalsfjellet

2020

10,1

0,0

0,0

Sous-total éolien

136,0

110,9

1 713,1

175,0

87,5 % 

Non alloué

5,0

2,5 % 

Total

140,5

117,3

1 904,9

200,0

100,0 % 

1 L’allocation comprend exclusivement le refinancement de projets en construction ou en cours d’exploitation.

2 Ragn d’Err: selon le Green Bond Framework, la période de lookback de 36 mois peut être dépassée. Un tel dépassement doit être déclaré de manière transparente. Pour le projet Ragn d’Err, cette période a été tout juste dépassée à 38 mois. Du fait de sa longue durée, le projet a fait l’objet d’un refinancement par le green bond, malgré le faible dépassement.

Haut de page
Ce site et ses outils tiers utilisent des cookies nécessaires à leur fonctionnement et aux fins énoncées dans la politique en matière de cookies. En fermant cette bannière, en parcourant cette page, en cliquant sur un lien ou en poursuivant la navigation d’une autre manière, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies.