en
Language
Select your language
|

FINANCIAL RESULT

Outstanding half-year results

BKW increased both its revenue and operating profit (EBIT) in the first six months of 2020, a period defined by the challenges of the coronavirus pandemic. Further significant growth in the Services business as well as the positive effects of hedged electricity prices were the main drivers of a 12% jump in revenue to CHF 1.5 billion. Increased electricity prices and another excellent trading result led to EBIT growth of 5% to CHF 219 million. In contrast to the first half of 2019, however, the Decommissioning and Waste Disposal Funds recorded a negative result, with a significant impact on the net profit which stands at CHF 112 million.

Excellent EBIT due to a strong trading result and higher electricity prices

In the first half of 2020, BKW achieved an EBIT of CHF 219 million, representing a further 5% increase on the previous year’s 10-year record high of CHF 207 million. Positive effects from electricity prices and another highly successful year’s trading have more than offset the drop in electricity sales caused by the coronavirus pandemic. Earnings for both the Grid and Services businesses were comparable to the previous year’s results. The Services business has proven highly robust during the coronavirus crisis and remained profitable in both its organic and acquisition-based activities.

In contrast, the uncertainty surrounding the coronavirus had a negative effect on performance in the financial markets. That includes the Decommissioning and Waste Disposal Funds, where negative returns impacted net profit, which stood at CHF 112 million. This was around CHF 90 million lower than the previous year, when the funds recorded a very high rate of return. Adjusted for the return on the funds, the net profit increased by 22%.

CHF millions

1st half-year 2019

1st half-year 2020

% change

Sales

1,370.2

1,529.8

12% 

Energy procurement/transport

– 424.6

– 419.8

– 1% 

Operating costs

– 642.3

– 791.3

23% 

Material and third-party services

– 178.8

– 254.0

42% 

Personnel expenses

– 356.9

– 438.1

23% 

Other operating expenses

– 106.6

– 99.2

– 7% 

EBITDA

303.3

318.7

5% 

Depreciation, amortisation and impairment

– 123.6

– 118.2

– 4% 

Income from associates

27.7

18.1

– 35% 

EBIT

207.4

218.6

5% 

Financial result

41.5

– 87.5

EBT

248.9

131.1

– 47% 

Income taxes

– 48.0

– 19.0

– 60% 

Net profit

200.9

112.1

– 44% 

Significant revenue growth of 12% thanks to the Services business

Despite the decommissioning of the Mühleberg Nuclear Power Plant and the resulting drop in energy production of almost 30%, plus the negative effects of the coronavirus on all three business areas, the Group’s revenue increased by 12%. This growth was primarily driven by 2019 acquisitions in the Services business. With most of these acquisitions completed towards the end of the year, they increased revenue in the Services business by more than 40%. This was more than enough to offset the negative effects of the coronavirus pandemic. While revenue in the Grid business remained at the previous year’s levels, the Energy business recorded a 7% drop in revenue. Higher electricity prices and increased production from renewables were unable to entirely compensate for the loss of production from the Mühleberg Nuclear Power Plant.

Increase in operating costs due to acquisitions made in the second half of 2019

Operating costs stood at CHF 791 million at 30 June 2020, a 23% rise driven largely by acquisition activities. There were no further acquisitions during the first six months of 2020. The number of employees in the company remained unchanged at around 10,000.

Financial result negatively impacted by the Decommissioning and Waste Disposal Funds

BKW’s financial result for the first half of 2020 was CHF – 88 million (previous year: CHF +42 million). This negative result was driven by the weak performance of the state Decommissioning and Waste Disposal Funds. While the assets in these funds managed an impressive return of 8% in the previous year, as at 30 June 2020 their value had decreased by 4%. This is attributable to uncertainty on the financial markets caused by the coronavirus pandemic. At the half-year mark, the funds were valued at CHF 1.2 billion. In the financial result, interest expenses were some CHF 16 million lower, with the 3.375% debenture bond of CHF 350 million refinanced by a CHF 200 million Green Bond with a 0.25% coupon at the end of July 2019. In addition, compounding of nuclear provisions was subject to a lower discount rate of 2.75% (previously: 3.5%).

Energy: excellent trading business boosts half-year results

The Energy business is consistently focused on the opportunities and challenges of a changing energy market. It is responsible for the production, sales and trading of electricity, certificates and energy-related commodities.

CHF millions

1st half-year 2019

1st half-year 2020

% change

Electricity sales Switzerland

264.1

250.9

– 5% 

Other electricity sales

383.7

340.6

– 11% 

Other operating income and own work capitalised

24.5

32.4

32% 

Total operating income

672.3

623.9

– 7% 

Energy procurement

– 372.5

– 370.0

– 1% 

Operating costs

– 150.2

– 98.5

– 34% 

Personnel expenses

– 51.8

– 28.9

– 44% 

Material and third-party services and other operating expenses

– 98.4

– 69.6

– 29% 

EBITDA

149.6

155.4

4% 

Depreciation, amortisation and impairment

– 51.1

– 36.8

– 28% 

Income from associates

16.0

9.2

– 43% 

EBIT

114.5

127.8

12% 

Revenue in the Energy business in the first half of 2020 was particularly affected by the end of production at the Mühleberg Nuclear Power Plant and a decrease in electricity sales caused by the coronavirus pandemic. Total operating revenue was CHF 624 million, 7% lower than in the previous year. The impact of the coronavirus pandemic was most keenly felt in transactions with SMEs and industrial customers, where revenue fell by approximately 10%. In contrast, revenue from the domestic supply business remained stable. The negative effects of warmer weather on household consumption were offset by somewhat higher usage arising caused by people working from home.

Revenue from the rest of the Energy business (market sales, direct sales from power plants, management and trading activities) fell by 11% due to a drop in the company’s own production (with the closure of the Mühleberg Nuclear Power Plant). Once again, outstanding trading results cushioned the fall in total revenue. BKW’s trading business successfully responded to the challenges and changes to the market resulting from the coronavirus pandemic.

While purchase volumes were lower overall, the costs of energy procurement remained at around the previous year’s level. One major factor here was the increased cost of procurement from the Leibstadt Nuclear Power Plant, with the negative performance of the Decommissioning and Waste Disposal Funds significantly increasing production costs.

Total electricity production from BKW’s own power plants fell by 1.5 TWh compared with the previous year, to 4.2 TWh, primarily because of the decommissioning of the Mühleberg Nuclear Power Plant. However, there was increased production in the hydroelectric plants and the remaining nuclear power plants. With the commissioning of the Marker wind farm in Norway in mid-2019, wind power also accounted for a higher production volume. By contrast, market prices proved a drag on production in the fossil-fuel power plants.

Operating costs were some CHF 50 million lower following the shutdown of the Mühleberg Nuclear Power Plant at the end of 2019. The costs are now being offset against the existing provisions. The loss of the Mühleberg Nuclear Power Plant had no material effect on the EBIT, with the fall in revenue largely offset by reduced costs.

At CHF 128 million, the EBIT was significantly higher than in the previous year (+12%). Higher electricity prices and the improved trading and management result more than compensated for the drop in revenue.

Grid: stable EBIT contribution

The Grid business builds, operates and maintains BKW’s distribution grid.

CHF millions

1st half-year 2019

1st half-year 2020

% change

Distribution grid usage fees

236.0

230.0

– 3% 

Other operating income and own work capitalised

29.3

40.0

37% 

Sales

265.3

270.0

2% 

Energy transport expense

– 52.1

– 49.8

– 4% 

Operating costs

– 92.7

– 93.6

1% 

Personnel expenses

– 33.4

– 35.1

5% 

Material and third-party services and other operating expenses

– 59.3

– 58.5

– 1% 

EBITDA

120.5

126.6

5% 

Depreciation, amortisation and impairment

– 40.8

– 42.5

4% 

Income from associates

11.6

8.9

– 23% 

EBIT

91.3

93.0

2% 

Total operating revenue from the Grid business stood at CHF 270 million, representing a 2% increase over the previous year’s figure. However, revenue from distribution grid usage fees fell by 3% to CHF 230 million, with the coronavirus and mild weather dampening grid usage. In contrast, other operating income increased by CHF 11 million. This included a one-off payment from Swissgrid of CHF 9 million in connection with an ElCom ruling relating to transmission grid assets transferred to Swissgrid in 2012.

Income from associates dropped by almost CHF 3 million compared with the previous year. This relates to Swissgrid pro rata income as assessed by BKW. The figure was affected by the corresponding BKW estimate for the 2019 financial statements, which differed from Swissgrid’s actual result in 2019. The difference arises because BKW is not in possession of the Swissgrid financial statements at the respective reporting dates and therefore has to estimate its result.

Taking account of the one-off payment resulting from the ElCom ruling and the difference in the expected Swissgrid pro rata income, the operating profit of CHF 93 million remains stable. This result means that BKW’s Grid business helped to stabilise the Group’s results during the first half of 2020, despite ongoing uncertainty. The company maintained the operational safety of the distribution grid at all times, even during the coronavirus lockdown period.

Services: strong growth once again

The main components of the Services business are BKW Engineering (engineering design and consultancy), BKW Building Solutions (building technology) and BKW Infra Services (services for energy, water and telecommunication networks).

CHF millions

1st half-year 2019

1st half-year 2020

% change

Sales

475.0

677.1

43% 

Operating costs

– 429.5

– 625.0

46% 

Personnel expenses

– 224.6

– 325.4

45% 

Material and third-party services and other operating expenses

– 204.9

– 299.6

46% 

EBITDA

45.5

52.1

15% 

Depreciation, amortisation and impairment

– 21.6

– 28.7

33% 

EBIT

23.9

23.4

– 2% 

There was further significant increase in revenue for the Services business in the first half of 2020. Growth of 43%, or around CHF 200 million, was driven by acquisition activities, in particular in the second half of 2019. New acquisitions ingenhoven architects (BKW Engineering), swisspro Group (BKW Building Solutions) and LTB Leitungsbau GmbH (BKW Infra Services) made a significant contribution to growth, with all three areas of the Services business expanding. BKW made no further acquisitions during the first half of 2020.

The coronavirus pandemic had a cooling effect on organic activity within the Services business. But even with severe disruption to some areas between March and May, the drop in revenue was in the low single-digit percentage range. With its sound, diversified business model, the Services division remained resilient during the coronavirus crisis, reaching a turning point in May and returning to growth in June.

Operating costs increased in line with the strong growth in revenue from acquisitions. BKW has so far deliberately refrained from structural measures in its response to the coronavirus pandemic, focusing instead on structural integrity and positioning itself to take advantage of opportunities that may arise during the recovery phase. The economic impact of the coronavirus is a continued source of uncertainty, but the company is constantly monitoring the situation, ready to intervene in its cost regime if necessary.

The Services business EBIT remained at the previous year’s impressive level. However, the effects of the pandemic on revenue and productivity put pressure on margins. The mid-point of the year brought clear signs of recovery and, notwithstanding the further development of the coronavirus situation, strong results are expected in the second half of the year in line with seasonal expectations.

Strong cash generation: funds from operations at record level

CHF millions

1st half-year 2019

1st half-year 2020

% change

Funds from operations before utilisation of nuclear provisions

268.3

362.1

35% 

Funds from operations

244.2

293.1

20% 

Cash flow from operating activities before utilisation of nuclear provisions

156.3

329.0

110% 

Utilisation of nuclear provisions with a claim to refunds of state funds

– 22.4

– 32.4

Utilisation of nuclear provisions with no claim to refunds of state funds

– 1.7

– 36.6

Cash flow from operating activities

132.2

260.0

97% 

Funds from operations, comprising the cash flow before change in net working capital and income taxes, outstripped the previous year’s already impressive level by CHF 49 million. The figure of CHF 293 million was the highest half-year result since the flotation of the company more than 15 years ago. Before utilisation of provisions for nuclear decommissioning and waste disposal, funds from operations amounted to CHF 362 million (+35%).

The reported cash flow from operating activities includes cash flows from operating activities as well as utilisation of provisions for nuclear decommissioning and waste disposal, subject to claims for refund from the state Decommissioning and Waste Disposal Funds. In the first half of 2020, BKW received CHF 54 million in refunds (previous year: CHF 24 million).

To facilitate comparison and interpretation, BKW therefore uses the indicators “funds from operations before utilisation of nuclear provisions” and “cash flow from operating activities before utilisation of nuclear provisions”. This measure of cash flow, which is relevant for evaluating cash generation, amounted to CHF 329 million, 110% higher than in the previous year. The reported cash flow from operating activities, CHF 260 million, is also significantly higher than in the previous year’s level (+97%).

BKW invested around CHF 90 million in the first half of 2020 (previous year: CHF 141 million). In contrast to previous years, no acquisitions were made during the first six months of 2020. The majority of the investments, achieved without third-party finances, related to the replacement and maintenance of the distribution grid (CHF 56 million). Current liquidity, including current financial assets, rose slightly to around CHF 950 million as at 30 June.

Equity and financing situation ensures financial freedom

CHF millions

31.12.2019

30.06.2020

Current assets

2,038.5

2,008.9

Non-current assets

7,200.0

7,031.7

Current liabilities

1,287.1

1,251.3

Non-current liabilities

4,216.2

4,153.8

Shareholders’ equity

3,735.2

3,635.5

Balance sheet total

9,238.5

9,040.6

The balance sheet total was CHF 9.0 billion, a 2% decline since the end of last year, a result in which the decommissioning of the Mühleberg Nuclear Power Plant proved a major factor. Dismantling work at the site started on 3 January 2020, coinciding with the planned utilisation of the provisions created for this purpose. At the same time, BKW received refunds from the state funds. On the liabilities side, pension liabilities increased after poor market conditions resulted in negative performance of the assets in the pension fund.

The equity ratio of 40.2% remained stable (end of 2019: 40.4%), with dividend payments and actuarial losses from pension liabilities bringing equity in line with the balance sheet total.

BKW’s financial position remains sound. Net debts (financial liabilities less current financial assets, cash and cash equivalents) fell by CHF 44 million to CHF 582 million thanks to excellent operating cash flow during the first half of the year and sound management of the net working capital.

BKW retains access to an unused syndicated loan totalling CHF 250 million. The financial framework necessary for financial and operational flexibility is thus well secured for the foreseeable future.

Back to top
This website uses cookies, including those from third parties, that are necessary for functionality and for the purposes set out in the cookie policy. By closing this banner, scrolling down the page, clicking on a link or continuing navigation in any other way, you consent to the use of cookies.

Finanzielles Ergebnis

Ausgezeichnetes Halbjahresergebnis

Im durch die Corona-Pandemie herausfordernden ersten Semester 2020 steigert die BKW ihren Umsatz und auch ihr Betriebsergebnis (EBIT). Das wiederum markante Wachstum des Dienstleistungsgeschäfts sowie der erstmals positiv wirkende Preisanstieg im Energiegeschäft sind die Haupttreiber des Umsatzanstiegs um 12% auf 1.5 Mrd. CHF. Die höheren Strompreise und das erneut hervorragende Handelsergebnis lassen den EBIT gegenüber dem Vorjahr um 5% auf 219 Mio. CHF ansteigen. Im Gegensatz zum ersten Halbjahr 2019 ist allerdings die Performance der Stilllegungs- und Entsorgungsfonds negativ gewesen, was den Reingewinn massgeblich belastet hat. Der Reingewinn beläuft sich auf 112 Mio. CHF.

Hervorragender EBIT dank starkem Handelsgeschäft und höheren Strompreisen

Die BKW erzielte im ersten Halbjahr 2020 einen EBIT von 219 Mio. CHF und liegt damit nochmals um 5% über dem bisherigen Zehn-Jahres-Spitzenwert des Vorjahres (207 Mio. CHF). Positive Strompreiseffekte und das wiederum ausgezeichnete Handelsergebnis können den coronabedingt tieferen Stromabsatz überkompensieren. Die Ergebnisbeiträge des Netzes und der Dienstleistungen bewegen sich auf Vorjahresniveau. Das Dienstleistungsgeschäft erwies sich in der Coronakrise als sehr robust und konnte sowohl im organischen wie auch im akquisitorischen Geschäft im positiven Gewinnbereich gehalten werden.

Demgegenüber war die Entwicklung an den Kapitalmärkten aufgrund der Corona-Unsicherheiten ausgeprägt negativ. Entsprechend belastet die negative Performance der Anlagen in den Stilllegungs- und Entsorgungsfonds den Reingewinn. Dieser beläuft sich auf 112 Mio. CHF und liegt damit um rund 90 Mio. CHF unter dem Vorjahr, in welchem die Fonds eine sehr hohe Rendite erzielt hatten. Bereinigt um die Renditen der Fonds ergibt sich eine Steigerung des Reingewinns um 22%.

Mio. CHF

1. Halbjahr 2019

1. Halbjahr 2020

Veränderung in %

Umsatz

1 370.2

1 529.8

12% 

Energiebeschaffung/-transporte

– 424.6

– 419.8

– 1% 

Betriebskosten

– 642.3

– 791.3

23% 

Material und Fremdleistungen

– 178.8

– 254.0

42% 

Personalaufwand

– 356.9

– 438.1

23% 

Sonstiger Betriebsaufwand

– 106.6

– 99.2

– 7% 

EBITDA

303.3

318.7

5% 

Abschreibungen und Wertminderungen

– 123.6

– 118.2

– 4% 

Ergebnis aus Assoziierten

27.7

18.1

– 35% 

EBIT

207.4

218.6

5% 

Finanzergebnis

41.5

– 87.5

EBT

248.9

131.1

– 47% 

Ertragssteuern

– 48.0

– 19.0

– 60% 

Reingewinn

200.9

112.1

– 44% 

Signifikantes Umsatzwachstum von 12% dank Dienstleistungsgeschäft

Trotz der Stilllegung des KKM, welche zu einer Reduktion der Energieproduktion von beinahe 30% führt, und negativer Corona-Auswirkungen auf alle drei Geschäftsbereiche, konnte der Umsatz der Gruppe um 12% gesteigert werden. In erster Linie ist dieses Wachstum auf die im Jahr 2019 getätigten Akquisitionen im Dienstleistungsbereich zurückzuführen. Da diese Akquisitionen vor allem gegen Ende des Jahres erfolgten, bewirken sie eine Steigerung des Dienstleistungsumsatzes von über 40%. Negative Corona-Effekte konnten so mehr als aufgefangen werden. Während sich der Umsatz des Netzes stabil entwickelte, verlor das Energiegeschäft im Umsatz 7%. Die gestiegenen Strompreise und die Mehrproduktion der erneuerbaren Energien konnten somit den Wegfall der Produktionsmenge aus dem KKM nicht vollständig kompensieren.

Zuwachs bei den Betriebskosten aufgrund von Akquisitionen im zweiten Semester 2019

Akquisitionsbedingt stiegen die Betriebskosten per 30. Juni 2020 um 23% auf 791 Mio. CHF. Im ersten Halbjahr 2020 wurden keine zusätzlichen Akquisitionen getätigt. Der Personalbestand liegt unverändert bei rund 10000 Mitarbeitenden.

Finanzergebnis durch negative Performance der Stilllegungs- und Entsorgungsfonds beeinträchtigt

Für das erste Halbjahr 2020 weist die BKW ein Finanzergebnis von – 88 Mio. CHF (Vorjahr: +42 Mio. CHF) aus. Grund für das negative Ergebnis ist die schwache Performance der staatlichen Fonds für Stilllegung und Entsorgung. Nachdem die Anlagenrendite im Vorjahr sehr gut ausgefallen war (+8%), liegt sie per 30. Juni 2020 bei – 4%. Diese Entwicklung ist auf die Unsicherheiten an den Kapitalmärkten bezüglich der Corona-Pandemie zurückzuführen. Zum Halbjahr sind die Fonds mit 1.2 Mrd. CHF bewertet. Der Zinsaufwand im Finanzergebnis fällt um rund 16 Mio. CHF tiefer aus, weil Ende Juli 2019 die 3.375%-Obligationenanleihe über 350 Mio. CHF durch einen 200 Mio. CHF Green Bond mit einem Coupon von 0.25% refinanziert werden konnte. Zudem kommt für die Aufzinsung der nuklearen Rückstellungen ein tieferer Diskontzinssatz zur Anwendung (2.75% im Vergleich zu den bisherigen 3.5%).

Energie: ausgezeichnetes Handelsgeschäft prägt Halbjahresergebnis

Das Geschäftsfeld Energie richtet sich konsequent auf die Chancen und Herausforderungen des veränderten Energiemarktes aus. Es umfasst die Produktion, den Vertrieb sowie den Handel mit Strom, Zertifikaten und energienahen Rohstoffen.

Mio. CHF

1. Halbjahr 2019

1. Halbjahr 2020

Veränderung in %

Elektrizitätsabgabe Vertrieb Schweiz

264.1

250.9

– 5% 

Übriges Energiegeschäft

383.7

340.6

– 11% 

Sonstige betriebliche Erträge und aktivierte Eigenleistungen

24.5

32.4

32% 

Gesamtleistung

672.3

623.9

– 7% 

Energiebeschaffung

– 372.5

– 370.0

– 1% 

Betriebskosten

– 150.2

– 98.5

– 34% 

Personalaufwand

– 51.8

– 28.9

– 44% 

Material und Fremdleistungen und sonstiger Betriebsaufwand

– 98.4

– 69.6

– 29% 

EBITDA

149.6

155.4

4% 

Abschreibungen und Wertminderungen

– 51.1

– 36.8

– 28% 

Ergebnis aus Assoziierten

16.0

9.2

– 43% 

EBIT

114.5

127.8

12% 

Die Umsatzentwicklung im ersten Halbjahr 2020 war im Energiegeschäft insbesondere geprägt durch den Wegfall der Produktionsmenge aus dem Kernkraftwerk Mühleberg (KKM) sowie den aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie reduzierten Stromabsatz. Mit 624 Mio. CHF lag die Gesamtleistung um 7% unter dem Vorjahr. Die Coronakrise wirkte sich vor allem im Geschäft mit den KMU und den Industriekunden aus, welches eine Umsatzreduktion von ca. 10% hinnehmen musste. Der Umsatz in der Grundversorgung hingegen blieb stabil. Hier konnte der negative Effekt der warmen Witterung durch den etwas erhöhten Energieverbrauch des Arbeitens im Homeoffice ausgeglichen werden.

Der Umsatz aus dem übrigen Energiegeschäft (Marktabgabe, direkte Abgabe aus den Kraftwerken, Bewirtschaftungs- und Handelstätigkeit) reduzierte sich infolge tieferer Eigenproduktion (Wegfall KKM) um 11%. Massgeblichen Anteil daran, dass der Rückgang nicht noch höher ausgefallen ist, hat das erneut ausgezeichnet verlaufene Handelsgeschäft. Dem Handel der BKW ist es erfolgreich gelungen, auf die Herausforderungen und Marktveränderungen infolge der Corona-Situation zu reagieren.

Obwohl insgesamt tiefere Mengen bezogen wurden, liegen die Kosten für die Energiebeschaffung auf dem Vorjahresniveau. Grund dafür sind insbesondere höhere Kosten für die Beschaffung beim Kernkraftwerk Leibstadt, dessen Produktionskosten aufgrund der negativen Performance der Stilllegungs- und Entsorgungsfonds deutlich höher ausgefallen sind.

Die Stromproduktion des eigenen Kraftwerkparks insgesamt verminderte sich gegenüber dem Vorjahr vor allem aufgrund der Ausserbetriebnahme des KKM um 1.5 TWh auf 4.2 TWh. Dabei haben die Hydro- und die verbleibenden Kernkraftwerke ihre Produktion gesteigert. Infolge der Inbetriebnahme des Windparks Marker in Norwegen Mitte 2019 erzielten auch die Windkraftwerke ein höheres Produktionsvolumen. Demgegenüber entstanden marktpreisbedingt Minderproduktionsmengen aus fossil-thermischen Kraftwerken.

Die Betriebskosten fielen vornehmlich aufgrund der Ausserbetriebnahme des KKM zum Jahresende 2019 um rund 50 Mio. CHF tiefer aus. Im Rahmen der Stilllegung werden sie nun gegen die bestehenden Rückstellungen verrechnet. Auf EBIT-Stufe ergibt sich aus dem Wegfall des KKM kein wesentlicher Effekt, da sich weggefallener Umsatz und weggefallener Aufwand in etwa ausgleichen.

Der EBIT liegt mit 128 Mio. CHF deutlich über dem Vorjahreswert (+12%). Die positiven Effekte der höheren Strompreise und das gegenüber Vorjahr nochmals bessere Handels- und Bewirtschaftungsergebnis sind die Hauptgründe dafür, dass der EBIT trotz Umsatzrückgang gesteigert werden konnte.

Netze: stabiler Ergebnisbeitrag

Das Geschäftsfeld Netze baut, betreibt und unterhält das eigene Verteilnetz.

Mio. CHF

1. Halbjahr 2019

1. Halbjahr 2020

Veränderung in %

Durchleitungsentschädigung Verteilnetz

236.0

230.0

– 3% 

Sonstige betriebliche Erträge und aktivierte Eigenleistungen

29.3

40.0

37% 

Umsatz

265.3

270.0

2% 

Aufwand Energietransporte

– 52.1

– 49.8

– 4% 

Betriebskosten

– 92.7

– 93.6

1% 

Personalaufwand

– 33.4

– 35.1

5% 

Material und Fremdleistungen und sonstiger Betriebsaufwand

– 59.3

– 58.5

– 1% 

EBITDA

120.5

126.6

5% 

Abschreibungen und Wertminderungen

– 40.8

– 42.5

4% 

Ergebnis aus Assoziierten

11.6

8.9

– 23% 

EBIT

91.3

93.0

2% 

Der Umsatz im Netzgeschäft insgesamt erhöhte sich gegenüber dem Vorjahreswert um 2% auf 270 Mio. CHF. Dabei fiel jedoch der Ertrag aus der Durchleitungsentschädigung (Netznutzung) um 3% auf 230 Mio. CHF. Die Abnahme resultiert aufgrund corona- und temperaturbedingt tieferer Durchleitungsmengen. Demgegenüber nahmen die sonstigen betrieblichen Erträge um 11 Mio. CHF zu. Darin enthalten ist eine einmalige Vergütung der Swissgrid in der Höhe von 9 Mio. CHF im Zusammenhang mit einer ElCom-Verfügung betreffend die im Jahr 2012 an die Swissgrid überführten Übertragungsnetzanlagen.

Das Ergebnis aus Assoziierten reduzierte sich um knapp 3 Mio. CHF gegenüber dem Vorjahreswert. Es handelt sich um das von der BKW geschätzte anteilige Ergebnis der Swissgrid, welches durch die Abweichung des tatsächlichen Jahresergebnisses 2019 der Swissgrid von der entsprechenden BKW Schätzung anlässlich des Jahresabschlusses 2019 beeinflusst ist. Die Abweichung entsteht aufgrund des Umstands, dass die BKW den Abschluss der Swissgrid jeweils noch nicht zur Verfügung hat und das Ergebnis daher schätzen muss.

Der EBIT liegt mit 93 Mio. CHF unter Berücksichtigung des einmaligen Ertrags aus der ElCom-Verfügung und der Schwankung des erwarteten anteiligen Swissgrid-Ergebnisses insgesamt auf einem stabilen Niveau. Mit diesem Resultat trägt das Netzgeschäft der BKW auch im von Unsicherheit geprägten ersten Semester 2020 zur Stabilisierung des Gruppenergebnisses bei. Der operativ sichere Betrieb des Verteilnetzes war auch in der Phase des Corona-Lockdown jederzeit sichergestellt.

Dienstleistungen: wiederum starkes Wachstum

Das Geschäftsfeld Dienstleistungen umfasst im Wesentlichen BKW Engineering (Ingenieurplanung und -beratung), BKW Building Solutions (Gebäudetechnik) sowie BKW Infra Services (Dienstleistungen für Energie-, Wasser- und Telekommunikationsnetze).

Mio. CHF

1. Halbjahr 2019

1. Halbjahr 2020

Veränderung in %

Umsatz

475.0

677.1

43% 

Betriebskosten

– 429.5

– 625.0

46% 

Personalaufwand

– 224.6

– 325.4

45% 

Material und Fremdleistungen und sonstiger Betriebsaufwand

– 204.9

– 299.6

46% 

EBITDA

45.5

52.1

15% 

Abschreibungen und Wertminderungen

– 21.6

– 28.7

33% 

EBIT

23.9

23.4

– 2% 

Der Umsatz des Dienstleistungsgeschäfts ist auch im ersten Halbjahr 2020 markant gestiegen. Das Wachstum von 43% oder rund 200 Mio. CHF ist akquisitorisch bedingt und insbesondere auf die im zweiten Semester 2019 getätigten Unternehmenskäufe zurückzuführen. Namentlich die in diesem Zeitraum akquirierten ingenhoven architects (BKW Engineering), swisspro-Gruppe (BKW Building Solutions) und LTB Leitungsbau GmbH (BKW Infra Services) tragen in wesentlichem Ausmass zum Wachstum bei. Somit verzeichneten alle drei Dienstleistungsbereiche ein Wachstum. Im ersten Halbjahr 2020 hat die BKW keine Akquisitionen durchgeführt.

Aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie war das rein organische Dienstleistungsgeschäft leicht rückläufig. Obwohl die Geschäftstätigkeit in den Monaten März bis Mai zum Teil stark eingeschränkt war, hielt sich der Umsatzrückgang im tieferen einstelligen Prozentbereich. Die solide und diversifizierte Aufstellung des Dienstleistungsgeschäfts der BKW hat sich auch in der Coronakrise bewährt. Ab Mai erholte sich die Situation wieder und ging im Juni bereits wieder in ein leichtes Wachstum über.

Dem starken akquisitorischen Umsatzwachstum entsprechend haben auch die Betriebskosten zugenommen. Auf strukturelle Massnahmen als Reaktion auf die Coronakrise hat die BKW bis jetzt bewusst verzichtet, um mit intakten Strukturen und aus einer Position der Stärke die Chancen, welche sich in einer Erholungsphase bieten, nutzen zu können. Die Unsicherheiten bezüglich der wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen von Corona bleiben aber bestehen. Deshalb wird die Situation laufend beobachtet, um rechtzeitig auch kostenseitig reagieren zu können.

Der EBIT des Dienstleistungsgeschäfts konnte auf Vorjahresniveau gehalten werden. Coronabedingt (Umsatz- und Produktivitätseffekte) musste allerdings eine Margenverschlechterung gegenüber dem Vorjahr hingenommen werden. Gegen Mitte des Jahres hat sich bereits eine deutliche Erholung der Situation eingestellt und es wird vorbehältlich der weiteren Entwicklung der Corona-Situation im zweiten Halbjahr ein auch saisonbedingt stärkeres Ergebnis erwartet.

Starke Cash Generation: Funds from Operations auf Rekordhöhe

Mio. CHF

1. Halbjahr 2019

1. Halbjahr 2020

Veränderung in %

Funds from Operations vor Verwendung nukleare Rückstellungen

268.3

362.1

35% 

Funds from Operations

244.2

293.1

20% 

Cashflow aus betrieblicher Tätigkeit vor Verwendung nukleare Rückstellungen

156.3

329.0

110% 

Verwendung nukleare Rückstellungen mit Rückerstattungsanspruch an staatliche Fonds

– 22.4

– 32.4

Verwendung nukleare Rückstellungen ohne Rückerstattungsanspruch an staatliche Fonds

– 1.7

– 36.6

Cashflow aus betrieblicher Tätigkeit

132.2

260.0

97% 

Die Funds from Operations, der Cashflow vor der Veränderung des Nettoumlaufvermögens und gezahlten Ertragssteuern, übertreffen den starken Vorjahreswert um 49 Mio. CHF und stellen mit 293 Mio. CHF den Spitzenwert aller Halbjahreswerte seit dem Börsengang vor über 15 Jahren dar. Vor Verwendung von Rückstellungen für die nukleare Stilllegung und Entsorgung betragen die Funds from Operations 362 Mio. CHF (+35%).

Der ausgewiesene Cashflow aus betrieblicher Tätigkeit beinhaltet nicht allein die Geldflüsse aus den operativen Aktivitäten, sondern auch diejenigen aus der Verwendung der Rückstellungen für die nukleare Stilllegung und Entsorgung. Die Verwendungen führen zudem grösstenteils zu Rückerstattungsansprüchen an die staatlichen Stilllegungs- und Entsorgungsfonds. Im ersten Halbjahr 2020 hat die BKW Rückerstattungen in der Höhe von 54 Mio. CHF (Vorjahr: 24 Mio. CHF) erhalten.

Für die bessere Vergleichbarkeit und Interpretierbarkeit verwendet die BKW daher die Kenngrössen «Funds from Operations vor Verwendung nukleare Rückstellungen» und «Cashflow aus betrieblicher Tätigkeit vor Verwendung nukleare Rückstellungen». Dieser für die Beurteilung der Cash Generation relevante Cashflow beläuft sich auf 329 Mio. CHF und fällt damit um 110% höher aus als im Vorjahr. Der ausgewiesene Cashflow aus betrieblicher Tätigkeit liegt mit 260 Mio. CHF ebenfalls markant über dem Vergleichswert der Vorjahresperiode (+97%).

Im ersten Halbjahr 2020 hat die BKW rund 90 Mio. CHF investiert (Vorjahr: 141 Mio. CHF). Im Unterschied zu den Vorjahren wurden im ersten Semester keine Akquisitionen getätigt. Der Grossteil der Investitionen, die wiederum aus den selbst erarbeiteten Mitteln finanziert werden konnten, bezieht sich daher auf den Ersatz und den Unterhalt des Verteilnetzes (56 Mio. CHF). Die kurzfristig verfügbare Liquidität unter Einbezug der kurzfristigen Finanzanlagen ist leicht angestiegen und beläuft sich zum 30. Juni auf rund 950 Mio. CHF.

Die Eigenkapital- und Finanzierungssituation stellt die finanzielle Handlungsfreiheit sicher

Mio. CHF

31.12.2019

30.06.2020

Umlaufvermögen

2 038.5

2 008.9

Anlagevermögen

7 200.0

7 031.7

Kurzfristige Verbindlichkeiten

1 287.1

1 251.3

Langfristige Verbindlichkeiten

4 216.2

4 153.8

Eigenkapital

3 735.2

3 635.5

Bilanzsumme

9 238.5

9 040.6

Die Bilanzsumme hat sich gegenüber dem Jahresende um 2% auf 9.0 Mrd. CHF vermindert. Ein wesentlicher Grund für die Reduktion ist der Start der Stilllegung des Kernkraftwerks Mühleberg. Einerseits haben die Rückbauarbeiten am 3. Januar 2020 begonnen und damit auch die plangemässe Verwendung der dafür gebildeten Rückstellungen. Andererseits wurden gleichzeitig Rückzahlungen aus den staatlichen Fonds bezogen. Auf der Passivseite nehmen demgegenüber die Personalvorsorgeverbindlichkeiten zu. Dies infolge einer finanzmarktbedingt negativen Performance der Anlagen der Pensionskasse.

Die Eigenkapitalquote bleibt mit 40.2% (Ende 2019: 40.4%) stabil, da sich gleichzeitig zur Bilanzsumme auch das Eigenkapital vermindert hat. Die Dividendenzahlung und die versicherungsmathematischen Verluste bei den Personalvorsorgeverbindlichkeiten sind die Hauptgründe dafür.

Die Finanzierungssituation der BKW präsentiert sich weiterhin solid. Die Nettoschulden (Finanzverbindlichkeiten abzüglich kurzfristiger Finanzanlagen und flüssiger Mittel) nehmen um 44 Mio. CHF auf 582 Mio. CHF ab. Ursachen für die Abnahme sind einerseits der ausgezeichnete operative Geldzufluss im ersten Halbjahr und andererseits eine erfolgreiche Bewirtschaftung des Nettoumlaufvermögens.

Die BKW verfügt nach wie vor über einen ungenutzten Konsortialkredit im Rahmen von 250 Mio. CHF. Der für die Umsetzung der Strategie und zur Wahrung der finanziellen und operativen Handlungsfreiheit notwendige Finanzierungsrahmen ist damit ausreichend und weiterhin jederzeit gesichert.

nach oben
Diese Website verwendet Cookies, auch von Dritten, die für ihre Funktion und für die in der Cookie Policy angegebenen Zwecke erforderlich sind. Durch Schliessen dieses Banners, Scrollen dieser Seite, Klicken auf einen Link oder die Fortsetzung der Navigation auf eine andere Weise erklären Sie sich mit der Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden.