en
Language
Select your language
|

FOREWORD

BKW delivers strong results in challenging times

BKW delivered an outstanding result in the first half of 2020. Driven by further remarkable growth in the Services business, revenue increased by 12% to around CHF 1.5 billion. Operating profit was CHF 219 million, 5% higher than the previous year’s already impressive figure. Operating cash flow increased by 97% to an all-time high of CHF 260 million.

Dear Shareholders,
Dear Sir/Madam,

BKW experienced an intense and challenging first half of 2020. But it was a period in which BKW excelled thanks to its robust positioning and well-integrated business areas. Energy, Grid and Services were all affected by challenges caused by the pandemic, yet BKW maintained operations in its production and grid infrastructure and fulfilled its customers’ expectations at all times. The international network, with around 10,000 employees in over 130 companies, continues to function well. Our consistent investment in digitalisation in recent years has paid off. BKW made very good progress in the first half of 2020 and consolidated its leading positions in the market, offering innovative and sustainable solutions for energy and infrastructure. These are key areas for addressing the major challenges facing society such as climate change, urbanisation and digitalisation. Together, we are creating the infrastructure for the living spaces of the future.

graphic

Strengthen Services and increase organic growth

We have considerably expanded our Services business in recent years, with further growth expected as the business continues its organic development. Through selective acquisitions, we are strengthening our expertise in future-oriented technologies such as building automation. The swisspro Group, part of BKW Building Solutions since 2019, plans, implements and operates electrical installations and solutions for ICT and automation throughout Switzerland. The canton of Zurich recently awarded swisspro a major contract to standardise its digital workplaces. With the establishment of swisspro Automation AG, BKW has taken an important step in its expansion of the strategic Automation division. Joining the BKW Engineering network in 2019, ingenhoven architects provides strategic reinforcement for general planning, green architecture, sustainable construction and energy efficiency. One of ingenhoven architects’ current projects is to redesign the city centre of Düsseldorf. The Kö-Bogen II with its eight kilometres of hornbeam hedging – the largest green façade in Europe – is due for completion in September 2020. BKW Infra Services is also developing well, with its member company LTB Leitungsbau GmbH securing several major contracts in the high-voltage field. As Germany’s energy transformation picks up pace, power grids on the country’s north-south corridor require massive expansion. LTB Leitungsbau GmbH is one of the top three companies in the German overhead power line market and has been part of the BKW network since 2019.

Rethinking the energy business

In the first half of 2020 we made our entry into the gas market. In the future, we will be able to supply our customers with gas as well as electricity. This is primarily aimed at industrial companies, SMEs, facility management companies and gas suppliers, and represents our response to the further liberalisation of the gas market. We provide existing gas customers with an attractive offering and give our end customers the best possible support as they transition towards a sustainable energy future. Gas will play an important role as a transitional technology on this journey. Homeowners and companies are also producing their own solar power in increasing numbers. The Home Energy system developed by BKW is an overall solution that is attracting substantial interest in the market. To satisfy the increased demand we have extended our distribution model to power suppliers and installation companies. BKW has already signed numerous agreements through these new distribution channels this year. After the final shutdown of the Mühleberg Nuclear Power Plant on 20 December 2019, dismantling started promptly at the beginning of 2020. Despite the coronavirus crisis, work is proceeding according to plan. The project reached an initial milestone at the end of March, when the reactor pressure vessel was opened and all the fuel elements transferred to the fuel element storage pool.

Optimising and digitalising grids

As Switzerland’s largest grid operator, we continue to develop our comprehensive data management expertise. We operate our grid efficiently, reflecting the realities of the new energy world and maintaining grid stability while increasing production of renewable energy. We are achieving this through a nine-digit annual investment in our grid.

Raising the financial outlook for 2020

Based on the excellent half-year results, we are raising our previously communicated financial outlook for the current financial year. We now expect an operating profit (excluding one-off effects) in the range of CHF 400 to 420 million (previously CHF 380 to 400 million). Uncertainties regarding future economic growth due to the coronavirus pandemic remain and could have a significant impact on the forecast.

Kind regards,

Dr. Suzanne Thoma, CEO

Back to top
This website uses cookies, including those from third parties, that are necessary for functionality and for the purposes set out in the cookie policy. By closing this banner, scrolling down the page, clicking on a link or continuing navigation in any other way, you consent to the use of cookies.

Vorwort

Die BKW mit starkem Resultat in schwierigen Zeiten

Die BKW hat im ersten Halbjahr 2020 ein ausgezeichnetes Ergebnis erzielt. Dank dem weiteren markanten Wachstum des Dienstleistungsgeschäfts ist der Umsatz um 12 Prozent auf rund 1.5 Mrd. CHF gestiegen. Das Betriebsergebnis beträgt 219 Mio. CHF und übertrifft damit den bereits starken Vorjahreswert um 5 Prozent. Der operative Cashflow nimmt um 97 Prozent zu und erreicht mit 260 Mio. CHF einen Höchstwert.

Sehr geehrte Aktionärinnen und Aktionäre,
sehr geehrte Damen und Herren

Die BKW blickt auf ein intensives erstes Halbjahr 2020 zurück, das uns alle gefordert hat. Doch es hat sich gezeigt: Die BKW bewährt sich einmal mehr. Die Geschäftsfelder Energie, Netze und Dienstleistungen ergänzen sich gut. Zwar hat die Pandemie alle Geschäftsfelder vor zusätzliche Herausforderungen gestellt, doch der Betrieb der Produktions- und Netzinfrastruktur war stets gesichert und die BKW für ihre Kundinnen und Kunden da. Das internationale Netzwerk mit rund 10000 Mitarbeitenden in über 130 Unternehmen funktioniert. Dass wir die Digitalisierung in den letzten Jahren konsequent vorangetrieben haben, hat sich jetzt besonders bewährt. Die BKW hat sich im ersten Halbjahr 2020 sehr gut entwickelt und ihre führenden Marktpositionen gefestigt. Sie bietet innovative und nachhaltige Lösungen in den Bereichen Energie, Gebäude und Infrastruktur. Diese sind zentral für die Bewältigung grosser gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen wie des Klimawandels, der Urbanisierung und der Digitalisierung. Gemeinsam gestalten wir Infrastrukturen für Lebensräume mit Zukunft.

graphic

Dienstleistungen stärken und organisch entwickeln

In den letzten Jahren haben wir das Geschäftsfeld Dienstleistungen stark ausgebaut. Das Wachstum wird sich fortsetzen, ebenso wie die organische Weiterentwicklung des Unternehmens. Mit gezielten Akquisitionen stärken wir unsere Kompetenzen in zukunftsgerichteten Bereichen wie der Gebäudeautomation. Seit 2019 gehört die swisspro-Gruppe zum BKW Netzwerk. Unter dem Dach von BKW Building Solutions plant, realisiert und betreibt sie schweizweit Elektroinstallationen und Lösungen im Bereich Kommunikation ICT und Automation. Kürzlich hat die swisspro einen Grossauftrag des Kantons Zürich gewonnen, der die digitalen Arbeitsplätze in der Verwaltung vereinheitlichen will. Mit der Gründung der swisspro Automation AG hat die BKW die Weichen gestellt, um den strategischen Geschäftsbereich Automation aufzubauen und weiterzuentwickeln. Im Netzwerk von BKW Engineering stellt ingenhoven architects seit 2019 eine strategische Verstärkung in den Bereichen Generalplanung, ökologische Architektur, nachhaltiges Bauen und Energieeffizienz dar. Zu den aktuellen Projekten von ingenhoven architects zählt die Neugestaltung des innerstädtischen Zentrums von Düsseldorf. Der Kö-Bogen II mit acht Kilometern Hainbuchenhecke ist Europas grösste Grünfassade und wird im September 2020 fertiggestellt. Erfreulich entwickelt sich auch das Kompetenzfeld Infrastruktur Dienstleistungen. Unter dem Dach der BKW Infra Services konnte sich die LTB Leitungsbau GmbH bereits mehrere signifikante Grossaufträge im Hochspannungsbereich sichern. Aufgrund der forcierten Energiewende besteht in Deutschland ein massiver Ausbaubedarf an Übertragungsnetzen auf den Nord-Süd-Achsen. Das Unternehmen zählt zu den Top 3 im deutschen Freileitungsmarkt und gehört seit 2019 zum BKW Netzwerk.

Energiegeschäft neu denken

Im ersten Halbjahr 2020 sind wir in den Gasmarkt eingetreten. Künftig werden wir unseren Kunden nebst Strom auch Gas liefern. Das Angebot richtet sich primär an Industriebetriebe, KMU, Immobilienverwaltungen und Gasversorgungsunternehmen. Damit nutzen wir die weitere Öffnung des Gasmarkts. Wir unterbreiten bestehenden Gasverbrauchern attraktive Angebote und begleiten unsere Endkunden optimal in die nachhaltige Energiezukunft. Auf diesem Weg spielt Gas als Übergangstechnologie eine bedeutende Rolle. Immer mehr Hausbesitzer oder Unternehmen produzieren ihren eigenen Solarstrom. Mit dem Home Energy-Energiesystem hat die BKW eine Gesamtlösung entwickelt, die am Markt auf enormes Interesse stösst. Um die grössere Nachfrage zu bedienen, haben wir das Vertriebsmodell auf Energieversorgungsunternehmen (EVU) und Installationspartner erweitert. Seit Jahresbeginn konnte die BKW bereits zahlreiche Abschlüsse über die neuen Distributionskanäle verzeichnen. Im Kernkraftwerk Mühleberg hat nach der endgültigen Einstellung des Leistungsbetriebs am 20. Dezember 2019 der Rückbau Anfang 2020 unverzüglich begonnen. Die Arbeiten schreiten trotz der Corona-Situation planmässig voran. Mit der Öffnung des Reaktordruckbehälters und der Verlagerung aller Brennelemente ins Brennelementlagerbecken wurde Ende März ein erster Meilenstein erreicht.

Netze effizient betreiben und digitalisieren

Als grösste Netzbetreiberin der Schweiz entwickeln wir uns zur integralen Datenexpertin weiter. Wir betreiben unser Netz effizient und richten es auf die neue Energiewelt aus, damit die Netzstabilität durch die wachsende Produktion erneuerbarer Energien aufrechterhalten werden kann. Dafür investieren wir jährlich einen dreistelligen Millionenbetrag in unser Netz.

Erhöhung finanzieller Ausblick 2020

Auf der Basis des ausgezeichneten Halbjahresergebnisses erhöhen wir unseren bisher kommunizierten finanziellen Ausblick für das laufende Geschäftsjahr und erwarten neu ein operatives Betriebsergebnis in der Bandbreite von 400 Mio. CHF bis 420 Mio. CHF (bisher 380 Mio. CHF bis 400 Mio. CHF). Die coronabedingten Unsicherheiten bezüglich der weiteren wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung bleiben weiterhin bestehen und können die Prognosen massgeblich beeinflussen.

Freundliche Grüsse

Dr. Suzanne Thoma, CEO

nach oben
Diese Website verwendet Cookies, auch von Dritten, die für ihre Funktion und für die in der Cookie Policy angegebenen Zwecke erforderlich sind. Durch Schliessen dieses Banners, Scrollen dieser Seite, Klicken auf einen Link oder die Fortsetzung der Navigation auf eine andere Weise erklären Sie sich mit der Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden.